The event is recognised under the community event guidelines and is directly helping the PostgreSQL community.
This event was conducted under the community event guidelines.
Minsk
April 16, 2024
Renaissance Minsk Hotel
PG BootCamp 2024 Minsk
Deepening knowledge of PostgreSQL
Сompleted event
The intent of PG BootCamp 2024 Minsk was to provide attendees with hands-on experience with the PostgreSQL DBMS. The program was designed for everyone who is passionate about mastering the intricacies of working with PostgreSQL databases - both beginners and experienced developers who want to deepen their knowledge of the core and ecosystem and put that into practice.
About the event
The event was sonductes as part of the global PG BootCamp initiative, mission of which is to bring together enthusiasts and experts in the field of DBMS in order to facilitate the growth and development of PostgreSQL. PG BootCamp 2024 Minsk allows participants to get up-to-date information on PostgreSQL DBMS, listen to lectures and take part in practical workshops from leading experts in this field.
PG BootCamp 2024 Minsk content
Modern technologies
The attendees could explore the possibilities of PostgreSQL, novadays one of the most popular DBMS. A vast pool of relevant subjects was covered
Extensive networking
Lectures and workshops
Meeting colleagues, professionals, enthusiasts of PostgreSQL, sharing opinions and ideas
Deep dives into the practical scenarios for effective use of PostgreSQL with lectures and workshops led by leading industry experts
Q&A sessions
Live discussions and Q&A sessions with expert speakers to have every question answered
Intermediate
Basic
Conference program
10:10 – 11:05
Postgres Protocol: advantages, drawbacks, and pitfalls
Andrey Borodin
PostgreSQL сontributor, head of open-source DBMS development unit, Yandex Cloud
In this paper, I'll discuss the Postgres client-server interaction structure. Even though the protocol has been in place for 20 years, it is now evident there was a better way to implement some parts of it in the past.
Advanced
11:05 – 12:00
int –> bigint migration
When a system starts to expand, it frequently occurs that previous successful features eventually stop functioning. When it comes to data type overflow, this is precisely true. If int4 was sufficient at the start of the project, it could eventually run out entirely and you'll need to move to bigint.
Alexander Nikitin
Lead DBA, PGMechanix
In this talk, I will outline the challenges that DBAs encounter, explain how to address those issues, and present a tool that will make them much easier.
12:30 – 13:30
PostgreSQL: from a replica to a high-availability cluster
Get ready for a trip through the essential techniques for building a robust and expandable PostgreSQL cluster!
Vladimir Vinogradov
DevOps Team lead, Tantor Labs
09:30 – 10:00
Guests registration at the venue
We'll start from the fundamentals, explore the synchronous and asynchronous PostgreSQL replication, speak about Patroni, a crucial tool for managing sharding and replication, and its role in automating cluster recovery and failure detection. Using a live example, we’ll see how the cluster functions and add HAProxy and PGbouncer for more efficient load balancing and high availability, and also use keepalived to ensure continuous system operation. Generally speaking, we’ll overview a combination of technologies assemblable into a highly available and scalable PostgreSQL cluster.
12:00 – 12:30
Сoffee break
13:30 – 14:30
Lunch
14:30 – 15:20
Resolving long-standing bugs, with plv8 as an example
I'll explain how we worked around a long-standing bug in plv8 that was related to the return of scalar JSON values from Javascript functions. We managed to fix the issue, addressing it at the level of the original project to ensure stable operation for all users, rather than using crutches in our code. We will discuss whether it’s worthwhile to push this further because the format for returning NULL data still remains a problem, and also we’ll share the history of this particular pull request's acceptance on GitHub and make some suggestions for those who still doubt to get involved as contributors.
Dmitriy Dorofeyev
Chief architect, Luxms
Basic
15:20 – 16:15
PostgreSQL performance for application developers — because there is no magic button
Developing an application and stress testing is great. But as the app goes into production and begins to scale, more often than not, we begin to encounter situations that we haven't thought about during the design process. This could be related to new use cases, disruptions in technology, or the sheer scale/volume of data and users. This is especially true for databases, more so because of the increasing trend of application developers and architects defining the technology stack - i.e. non-experts of databases making database decisions. Nothing wrong with it, especially as it speeds up the process of development and go-to-market.
Umair Shahid
PostgreSQL Code of Conduct Committee Member (2019–2022) and Chair (2021-2022), Founder, Stormatics
This talk focuses on such instances in order to guide developers of a few key items to be mindful of when designing and scaling applications using PostgreSQL.
Basic
16:15 – 17:05
Step-by-step debugging of PostgreSQL source code with pg_store_plans as an example
The main focus of our study will be a thorough practical examination of the debugging process, learning to compile it using debugging symbols, and applying some fascinating techniques to find and fix mistakes. We'll cover the setup of the debug compilation environment and the configuration of VS Code for efficient debugging.
Lev Nikolaev
Developer, Tantor Labs
I'll also talk about my own journey, which began as a student with no prior work experience and ended with me being a rookie developer who found a wealth of opportunities in the database world.
17:05 – 17:25
Сoffee break
17:25 – 18:15
Wait events monitoring and low-level PostgreSQL performance issues
Wait events monitoring is a versatile method for troubleshooting performance issues; it may be used to examine any sudden degradation or insufficient CPU utilization. Performance monitoring boards in commercial products, for example Performance Insights for Amazon RDS/Aurora or the basic performance pages of Oracle Enterprise Manager, are built on wait events. I am going to show how you can get rich monitoring capabilities, comparable to Performance Insights boards, using open-source components.
Maxim Milutin
openGauss and PostgreSQL contributor
We'll dig into the types of wait events, including system (low-level) ones, and talk about mitigating the impact of factors reflecting scalability issues in the PostgreSQL kernel.
18:15 – 19:00
Debugging the PostgreSQL streaming replication
PostgreSQL replication has many intricate and fascinating aspects, making it a rather complicated aspect of the database building process. Without appropriate debugging, it is nearly hard to design this portion appropriately. To help with replication development, I'll walk you through the selection of tools and test writing techniques.
Ilya Evdokimov
Senior developer, Tantor Labs
10:00 – 10:10
PG BootCamp 2024 Minsk welcome speech
Vadim Yatsenko
Michael Goldberg
CEO, Tantor Labs
Member of PostgreSQL Code of Conduct Committee (as of 2020), Chair (as of 2023), Member of PG BootCamp Initiative Group, PGDay Israel Conferences Organizer (as of 2017)
Advanced
Intermediate
Intermediate
In recognition of participation and involvement in the development of the PostgreSQL community, on-site and online participants of PG BootCamp 2024 Minsk will receive certificates confirming their gained skills.
Certificates for the participants
Travel partner
Media partners
Supported by
The goal of the PG BootCamp initiative is to bring industry professionals together. You can participate as a speaker: if you feel that your expertise will benefit the attendees, helping them deepen their knowledge and practical skills in working with PostgreSQL, please do not hesitate to contact the Program committee.
Program committee
Michael Goldberg
Member of PostgreSQL Code of Conduct Committee (as of 2020), Chair (as of 2023), Member of PG BootCamp Initiative Group, PGDay Israel Conferences Organizer (as of 2017)
Maxim Milutin
PostgreSQL Contributor, openGauss Contributor
Umair Shahid
PostgreSQL Code of Conduct Committee Member (2019–2022) and Chair (2021-2022), Founder, Stormatics
February, 15 – April, 3, 2024
Talks selection is completed
Applications were accepted
Join the
PG BootCamp channel
on Telegram
Greetings and announcements from PG BootCamp speakers
Useful tips and best practices for using PostgreSQL
News and updates about PostgreSQL and its ecosystem
PostgreSQL learning resources
Discussions and responses to your questions from the PostgreSQL community

PG BootCamp 2024
Качаем скиллы PostgreSQL
Минск
16 апреля 2024
Отель "Ренессанс Минск"
Мероприятие проведено в соответствии
с рекомендациями сообщества PostgreSQL.
Мероприятие завершено
PG BootCamp 2024 Minsk было направлено на приобретение участниками практических навыков при работе с СУБД PostgreSQL. Программа рассчитана на всех, кто увлечен освоением тонкостей работы с базами данных PostgreSQL – как начинающих специалистов, так и опытных разработчиков, желающих углубить свои знания ядра и экосистемы и применить их на практике.
О мероприятии
Мероприятие прошло в рамках глобальной инициативы PG BootCamp, миссия которой – объединить энтузиастов и экспертов в области СУБД с целью дальнейшего роста и развития PostgreSQL. PG BootCamp позволит участникам получить актуальную информацию по СУБД PostgreSQL, прослушать лекции и принять участие в практических мастер-классах от ведущих экспертов в этой области.
Что было на PG BootCamp 2024 Minsk?
Современные технологии
Охвачен огромный пул актуальных вопросов применения PostgreSQL – одной из наиболее популярных СУБД во всем мире.
Нетворкинг
Лекции и мастер-классы
Новые знакомства и общение с коллегами, профессионалами, энтузиастами PostgreSQL, обмен мнениями и идеями
Участники погрузились в практические сценарии эффективного использования PostgreSQL в лекциях и мастер-классах, которые провели ведущие эксперты отрасли
Интерактив
Живые дискуссии и сессии вопросов и ответов с экспертами-спикерами. Все участники могли задать вопросы спикерам и получить на них ответы
Средний
Базовый
Программа конференции
10:10 – 11:05
Postgres Protocol: плюсы, минусы, подводные камни
Андрей Бородин
PostgreSQL contributor, руководитель подразделения разработки РСУБД с открытым исходным кодом, Yandex Cloud
Продвинутый
В докладе я расскажу о структуре клиент-серверного взаимодействия Postgres. Протоколу уже 20 лет, и сейчас понятно, чтó в свое время можно было сделать лучше.
11:05 – 12:00
Миграция int –> bigint
Когда система начинает расти, часто случается, что то, что хорошо работало ранее, через какое-то время работать перестаёт. Именно так обстоит дело и с переполнением типов данных. Если в начале проекта хватало int4, то впоследствии он может полностью исчерпаться и понадобится переходить на bigint.
Александр Никитин
ведущий администратор БД PGMechanix
В своем докладе я опишу то, с чем сталкивается ДБА, опишу путь решения подобной задачи и познакомлю с утилитой, которая значительно упростит ее выполнение.
12:30 – 13:30
От реплики до высокодоступного кластера PostgreSQL
Приготовьтесь к путешествию по технологиям, необходимым для создания надежного и масштабируемого кластера PostgreSQL. Начнем с основ, обсудим асинхронную и синхронную репликацию, перейдем к обсуждению Patroni — ключевого инструмента для управления репликацией и шардингом, а также поговорим о его роли в автоматизации обнаружения отказов и восстановления кластеров. Посмотрим работу кластера на живом примере, добавим HAProxy и PGbouncer для эффективной балансировки нагрузки и обеспечения высокой доступности, плюс keepalived для гарантирования непрерывной работы системы. В общем, соберем комбинацию технологий в высокодоступный и масштабируемый кластер PostgreSQL.
Владимир Виноградов
руководитель DevOps «Тантор Лабс»
09:30 – 10:00
Регистрация участников
12:00 – 12:30
Кофе-брейк
13:30 – 14:30
Обед
Средний
14:30 – 15:20
Опыт исправления многолетних багов на примере plv8
Расскажу, как мы обходили многолетний баг в plv8, связанный с возвратом скалярных JSON-значений из Javascript-функций, а затем исправили его, решив проблему не “костылями” в нашем коде, а на уровне оригинального проекта для стабильной работы всех пользователей. Поделимся историей принятия нашего pull request на GitHub, дадим советы тем, кто не решается контрибьютить, и обсудим, стоит ли дожимать эту историю, ведь остался нерешенным вопрос о формате возврата NULL-значений.
Дмитрий Дорофеев
главный конструктор ГК Luxms
Базовый
15:20 – 16:15
О производительности PostgreSQL для разработчиков
Разработка приложения и стресс-тестирование - это здорово. Однако когда приложение уже запускается в производство и начинает масштабироваться, мы часто сталкиваемся с ситуациями, о которых в процессе проектирования не задумывались. Это может быть связано, например, с новыми сценариями использования, технологическими сбоями, масштабом данных или числом пользователей. Кроме того, растет тенденция, когда общий стек технологий определяют разработчики и архитекторы, не являющиеся специалистами в области БД (в этом нет ничего плохого, тем более что это ускоряет процесс разработки и вывода на рынок).
Умаир Шахид
Член комитета PostgreSQL Code Of Conduct (2019-2022), председатель (2021-2022), основатель Stormatics
В своем докладе я познакомлю разработчиков с некоторыми моментами, о которых следует помнить при проектировании и масштабировании приложений с использованием PostgreSQL.
Базовый
16:15 – 17:05
Пошаговая отладка исходного кода PostgreSQL на примере pg_store_plans
Лев Николаев
разработчик «Тантор Лабс»
17:05 – 17:25
Кофе-брейк
Средний
17:25 – 18:15
Мониторинг ожиданий и низкоуровневые проблемы производительности PostgreSQL
Мониторинг ожиданий – универсальный инструмент диагностики проблем производительности, с его помощью можно исследовать любую внезапную деградацию в базе или недостаточную утилизацию CPU. На ожиданиях строятся основные борды мониторинга производительности в коммерческих продуктах, например Performance Insights для Amazon RDS/Aurora или базовые performance-страницы Oracle Enterprise Manager.
Максим Милютин
openGauss and PostgreSQL contributor
Я расскажу о том, как на основе opensource-компонентов получить функциональность мониторинга, сравнимую с главными бордами Performance Insights. Рассмотрим основные типы ожиданий, в том числе системные (низкоуровневые), и узнаем, как уменьшить влияние факторов, свидетельствующих о проблемах масштабируемости самого ядра PostgreSQL.
18:15 – 19:00
Отладка потоковой репликации PostgreSQL
Репликация — довольно сложная составляющая PostgreSQL по части разработки, в ней много непростых и интересных нюансов. Проектировать правильным образом эту часть без должной отладки практически невозможно. Я покажу, какие инструменты использовать и как писать тесты, чтобы облегчить разработку репликации.
Илья Евдокимов
старший разработчик «Тантор Лабс»
Продвинутый
10:00 – 10:10
Открытие PG BootCamp 2024 Minsk
Михаил Гольдберг
член комитета PostgreSQL Code of Conduct c 2020 г., Председатель — с 2023 г.; член инициативной группы PG BootCamp, организатор конференций PGDay Israel с 2017 г.
Вадим Яценко
генеральный директор «Тантор Лабс»
Сосредоточимся на детальном практическом изучении процесса отладки исходного кода PostgreSQL, научимся компилировать его с отладочными символами и применять продвинутые техники для выявления и устранения ошибок. Узнаем, как подготовить среду для отладочной компиляции и как настроить Visual Studio Code для эффективной отладки. Обязательно поделюсь личным опытом: как я прошел путь от студента без опыта работы до начинающего разработчика, раскрыв для себя массу возможностей в мире баз данных.
В знак признания участия и заинтересованности в развитии сообщества PostgreSQL очные и заочные участники PG BootCamp 2024 Minsk получили сертификаты, подтверждающие приобретение новых навыков.
Сертификаты для участников мероприятия
Тревел-партнер
Информационные партнеры
При поддержке
Мероприятия PG BootCamp призваны объединить ведущих специалистов и профессионалов отрасли. У вас есть возможность выступить в качестве спикера: если Вы чувствуете, что ваша экспертиза принесет пользу участникам и поможет им расширить знания и углубить практические навыки работы с PostgreSQL, – пожалуйста, свяжитесь с нашим Программным комитетом.
Программный комитет
По всем вопросам, пожалуйста, связывайтесь с нами.
Михаил Гольдберг
Член комитета PostgreSQL Code of Conduct (с 2020), Председатель (с 2023), Член инициативной группы PG BootCamp, организатор конференций PGDay lsrael (с 2017)
Максим Милютин
PostgreSQL Contributor, openGauss Contributor
Умаир Шахид
Член комитета PostgreSQL Code Of Conduct (2019-2022), председатель (2021-2022), основатель Stormatics
15 февраля – 3 апреля 2024
Прием заявок завершен
Тезисы выступлений принимались
Вступайте
в Telegram-канал
PG BootCamp
Приветствия и анонсы от спикеров PG BootCamp
Полезные советы и лучшие практики по использованию PostgreSQL
Новости о PostgreSQL и его экосистеме
Материалы для изучения PostgreSQL
Обсуждения и ответы на ваши вопросы от сообщества PostgreSQL-энтузиастов